Drew Timme included on Jon Rothstein’s preseason All-American First Team

The 2022-23 college basketball season is under two months away, ending what has felt like a particularly long offseason.

College basketball has more star power returning for next season than it has in a long time, thanks in part to new NIL rules which allow student-athletes to earn money while in school, and the NBA’s distaste for “traditional” big men who score with their back to the basket and don’t stretch the floor particularly well.

That combo means the NCAA will be chalk full of talented post players, and that is apparent when looking at Jon Rothstein’s preseason All-American squads, which he released in an article for College Hoops Today on Thursday.

Gonzaga forward Drew Timme was among the five players on Rothstein’s All-American First Team, alongside Kentucky’s Oscar Tshiebwe, North Carolina’s Armando Bacot, Michigan’s Hunter Dickinson, and Indiana’s Trayce Jackson-Davis.

“Timme may not have gotten the attention that he deserved last season because of Chet Holmgren, but he still had a stellar campaign,” Rothstein wrote. “Over the last two years, the 6-10 Timme has averaged 18.7 points and 6.9 rebounds while shooting an astronomical 62.1 percent from the field. This is quietly one of the best players that has played college basketball in the last two decades.”

Timme and Tshiebwe are set to face off on November 20 when the Zags and Wildcats meet at the Spokane Arena, and it will be the first time in nearly 50 years a two-time All-American and the reigning National Player of the Year meet in the regular season, a testament to college basketball’s star-studded returners this season.

Rothstein’s All-American Second Team is more guard focused, and features Houston’s Marcus Sasser, North Carolina’s Caleb Love, UCLA’s Jaime Jaquez, UConn’s Adama Sanogo, and Purdue’s Zach Edey.

Timme and the Zags will begin the season against North Florida on November 7.

One thought on “Drew Timme included on Jon Rothstein’s preseason All-American First Team

Leave a Reply