Courtney Vandersloot named to AP All-WNBA Second Team

The official WNBA awards will likely be announced in the next week or so, but former Gonzaga guard Courtney Vandersloot already added to her impressive resume, picking up All-WNBA Second Team honors from the AP.

Seattle Storm forward Breanna Stewart was named the Associated Press WNBA Player of the Year after leading the league in scoring. A’Ja Wilson finished second in Player of the Year voting, while also taking home Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Stewart and Wilson were joined on the AP First Team by Candace Parker, Kelsey Plum, and Sabrina Ionescu. Meanwhile, Vandersloot was joined on the Second Team by Skylar Diggins-Smith, Alyssa Thomas, Jonquel Jones, and Nneka Ogwumike.

Sloot started 32 games for the defending champion Chicago Sky this season, averaging 11.8 points, 6.5 assists, and 3.9 rebounds on her way to a fourth All-Star Game appearance.

Her squad will take on Ionescu and the New York Liberty in the first round of the WNBA playoffs, which begin on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply